Staying Focused #1

Wonderful message by Marvin Brubacher, MentorLink Canada’s Director.
Be blessed as you read on,

Stacy

feetI Corinthians 4: 1-5

One of my favorite passages of Scripture is 1 Corinthians 4: 1-5. Paul teaches
us that in order for believers to serve as God desires, they must be clear about
several important realities and concentrate on them – in other words, stay
focused.

First, I must be clear about who I am. I must remember that I am the servant of
Christ (v.1). Paul uses a different word from his normal word for servant/slave.
He refers to a kind of person that was quite common in that culture – a
subordinate servant who functioned as a free man. As the Romans conquered the
world, they often took the educated and business people and made them stewards
and teachers in their homes. The person was a servant who had a lot of
responsibility and freedom in the master’s household.

This is what happened in my life. Once I was a slave to sin and a citizen of the
in His household. I must never forget this reality because it keeps me from
making excuses. I have been given specific responsibilities in the Kingdom; I am
accountable to Jesus. This reality also keeps me rejoicing because I have the
amazing privilege of serving the best Master!

Looking to Jesus,

Marvin Brubacher
Toronto, Canada

Leave a Reply

