Staying Focused #2

Part of a series by Marvin Brubacher, Director of MentorLink Canada.
Read on,

Stacy

hands_bible2
I Corinthians 4: 1-5

Last week, I mentioned that 1 Corinthians 4: 1-5 is one of my favorite passages
of Scripture. Paul is emphasizing the important truth that if I want to serve as
God desires, I must be clear about several important realities and concentrate
on them; in other words, I need to stay focused. The first — I am the servant
of Christ (v.1).

Second, I must concentrate on what I do; I am a dispenser of the “secret things
of God.” The idea of “entrusted with” describes the concept of stewardship and
what I am to steward is the eternal truth of salvation by faith in the death and
resurrection of Jesus Christ.

When I think about stewardship, the best picture from the Bible is Joseph. As a
servant under Potiphar, Joseph was put in charge of everything in his master’s
household with several purposes in mind; he was supposed to make the resources
of the master grow and to bring blessing to everyone in the household. Excellent
stewards are critical for the success of the master.

When I think of my life as a steward of the gospel, I realize that I must be
able to explain the message very well because this is the Master’s business. I
also understand that I need to make wise investments of the good news in the
lives of people with whom I have a meaningful connection.

Two questions to ponder:

  1. Am I making contact with those who need to hear the message?
  2. Am I able to share the message clearly and with compelling conviction?

Looking to Jesus,

Marvin Brubacher
Toronto, Canada

Leave a Reply

