An Amazing Reality and Promise

It’s been a while since I posted….Here are some thoughts on the Great Commission.

– Stacy

declare his gloryJesus, the Lord, the King of Kings, the One who holds creation together, after He was resurrected pulled the Twelve and the Disciples together and said, “All authority has been given to me in heaven and on earth…” This is the setting, the current and future reality. The name Jesus is just some common place name. It is the name of the King with all authority to do what He wants. It is by this reality and authority that Jesus says, “as you go, MAKE DISCIPLES, teaching them to obey all I’ve commanded you…” (Matt. 28:16-19).

Then Jesus gives this amazing promise, “Lo, I am with you even to the end of the age.” (Matt 28:20). Jesus’ presence means I go by Jesus’ authority. I am His emissary, His ambassador. I go not on my own authority but on His. Regardless of how people treat me, respond to me or respect me, I go based on His authority not my own.

With this reality and promise, how can I not act? May He give each of us boldness to step out in faith.

Leave a Reply

