Frightful Times

Last night I was attending the MentorLink Canada 10th Anniversary Celebration near Toronto, Canada when after the meeting I heard of the tragic coordinated attack in France.

habakkuk

Recently I’ve been meditating in Habakkuk 3. Habakkuk observed what was happening with the increasing threat of the Chaldeans and their pending invasion of Israel. Fear of what was coming,  destruction of Israel’s way of life and the coming loss  of life and property overwhelmed Habakkuk.

Here’s how he really felt:

I heard and my inward parts trembled, At the sound my lips quivered. Decay enters my bones, And in my place I tremble. Because I must wait quietly for the day of distress, For the people to arise who will invade us (Hab. 3:16).

Yet this is how he resolved the fear:

Though the fig tree should not blossom And there be no fruit on the vines,
Though the yield of the olive should fail And the fields produce no food,
Though the flock should be cut off from the fold And there be no cattle in
the stalls, Yet I will exult in the LORD, I will rejoice in the God of my
salvation. The Lord GOD is my strength, And He has made my feet
like hinds’ feet, And makes me walk on my high places (Hab. 3:17-19).

Our hope is only in Him.
Stacy

Leave a Reply

