He Emptied Himself

BirthOfChrist.jpg“But He emptied himself, taking the form of a servant, being born in the likeness of men” (Philippians 2:7)

Jesus was an extraordinary Man. His life and ministry continue to overwhelm the world. Non-educated people and scholars, nonbelievers and Christians, Liberals and Evangelicals, proponents of all schools of thoughts altogether are still actively and passionately reflecting, analyzing, pondering, digging, searching and researching to comprehend His Person, Nature and work.

How could such a great figure come down to us? How could the greatest Man become the smallest of all? How could God become a Man? How could the Creator become a servant, a doulos to be more biblical?

Books have been written. Films have been produced. Stories have been told. Discoveries have been made. Nothing in the world has been able to definitively settle the matter, because Jesus is and always will be of a different kind. But the message of the Bible is clear and simple. Jesus He is God from eternity to eternity.

No one can compare to Him. Nothing equals Him.

For our salvation He incarnated Himself in human flesh. In order to accomplish such a great salvation, Jesus had to empty Himself. He did by laying aside all His privileges, by taking the form of a true servant. He sets the example for us.

Nothing in our lives and/or ministries thrives if it does not spring from a deep desire to empty ourselves. These are some questions to ponder:

  • Have I emptied myself of every pride?
  • Who do I think I am? Something or nothing?
  • Am I a human hero or a spiritual zero?
  • Am I a VIP or a simple true servant
  • Am I setting myself above others or do I identify to them?
  • Can I really say in everything I do I empty myself?

God bless you!
Pierre

 

Leave a Reply

